Welsh and Arthurian Literature of the Middle Ages
General Catalog Course Title:
Welsh and Arthurian Literature of the Middle Ages
Terms Offered:
Spring 2016
Fall 2014
Spring 2013
Fall 2012
Summer 2008

A selective study of major works of Welsh prose and poetry of the Middle Ages, with special attention to traditional and innovative views on the genesis and development of the legendary history of King Arthur in Europe.  The works read will include the Four Branches of the Mabinogi; Culhwch and Olwen and The Dream of Rhonabwy, two native Welsh tales of King Arthur; the early Arthurian poems, "What Man the Gatekeeper" and "The Spoils of Annwn"; a selection of the poetry of Taliesin, Myrddin (= Merlin), Llywarch Hen, and Aneirin, as well as from the Poets of the Princes; Armes Prydein [the Prophecy of Britain]; the Arthurian section of Geoffrey of Monmouth’s History of the Kings of Britain; and finally, the Welsh romances of Owein and Gereint and their French counterparts, Yvain or the Knight of the Lion and Erec and Enide.

For more detailed information about classes, please visit the UC Berkeley Online Schedule of Classes.